first_imgScout Groups from all over County Donegal attended a special ceremony to commemorate the centenary of the 1916 Rising and to celebrate 100 years since the Proclamation of the Irish Republic this week in Burt. Members of Óglaigh na hÉireann from the 28 Inf Battalion, presented a National Flag to every Scout Group in County Donegal at this special ceremony.Piper Cpl Conall Creagh piped in the National Colours to begin the ceremony. The ceremony was led by Lieutenant John McCandless, who formally presented the National Flag to each Scout Group. The Scouts were taught about how the National Flag should be cared for and the protocol that surrounds it. Members of the Flag party included Lieut Dion Magee, CQMS Damien Downey and Sgt Joe Quinn.The ceremony was attended by Errigal County Commissioner Dessie Taylor and Kevin Ferguson, Scouting Ireland.Scouting Ireland is the largest youth orgainsation in Ireland with over 50,000 members.The Ceremony was attended by representatives from Donegal Town, Stranorlar, Letterkenny, Raphoe, Manorcunningham, Newtoncunningham, Muff, Buncrana, Carndonagh, Clonmany, Culdaff, Moville Sea Scouts, Quigley’s Point, Glenties, Gweedore and Dunfanaghy Scout Groups. Donegal Scout Groups form part of Errigal County, Northern Province which encompasses County Donegal, West Derry and West Tyrone. This is a key part of the Ireland 2016 commemorative programme.Donegal scout groups attend special flag ceremony was last modified: November 16th, 2016 by StephenShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window) Tags:donegalScoutslast_img